Daily Prompt: What Nerds Find Funny

20130621-112232.jpg

Daily Prompt: Ha Ha Ha
Tell us a joke! Knock-knock joke, long story with a unexpected punchline, great zinger — all jokes are welcome!

Having graduated with Biomathematics and Math Education majors, I have learned a ton of math and science jokes and bad pick up lines along the way (you have to keep the kids interested somehow! Although many of these are not child appropriate, ironically I learned a large number from professors and kids throughout the years). Most of the time when I tell them I have to explain them so if you’re not a total dork like me, don’t worry! I’ve explained them here too:

So, here’s a compilation of some nerdy jokes I know. Enjoy!

A neutron walks into a bar and asks the bartender how much. The bartender says, “for you, no charge!”
Explanation: a Neutron is a neutral atom as opposed to protons and electrons which are positively and negatively charged respectively.

Can I be your first derivative so I can lay tangent to your curves?
Explanation: the first derivative of an equation is the equation to find the line tangent to a curve. For example,
y= x^2 +3
y’= 2x <– this line is tangent to y (touches y at only one point)

Can I be your third derivative so I can explore your concavity?
Explanation: third derivatives find out where and if the curve is concave up (like a cup) or concave down (like an upside down U)

You must be the square root of -1 because you can’t be real.
Explanation: the square root of -1 is 1i, an imaginary number.

If I were sin2x and you were cos2x , together we’d be ONE!
Explanation: sin2x+cos2x=1

Why is 1 the sluttiest number? It goes into everything
Explanation: 1/1=1, 2/1=2, 3/1=3

I love this daily prompt! Here are some other jokes other daily prompt-ers are posting:

Carpe nerDiem! Happy Friday!
-Avi

14 Comments

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Dad’s Stroke (of genius) | Iam Who Iam

  2. Pingback: A Joke for the Daily Prompt | Cheri Speak

  3. Pingback: RECURRING DREAMS | hastywords

  4. Pingback: What’s in door #1? | Thriving Pessimist...

  5. Pingback: The Greatest Magic Trick, Ever | The Jittery Goat

  6. Pingback: Jokeulous! That Daily Prompt Show! | Edward Hotspur

  7. Pingback: old man’s humor | memoirs of an unremarkable man

  8. Pingback: Ha Ha Ha Boom! Boom! | Keyboard Pizza

Leave a comment