Carpe nerDiem!

I joke, I kid, and I make fun of myself, but here’s the real deal: I absolutely love being a nerd.

I get to read books, do math problems, and watch science YouTube videos while sitting in my bedroom which is decorate in tons of Superman memorabilia. I’m the girl that sits in the front of the class (partly because I’m short, partly because I’m a teacher’s pet), asks a ton of questions, and raises my hand to answer everything. You’d probably sit next to me in class if you want extra help or to cheat off my test.

But guess what, I get away with it because I’m a nerd. It’s like, my life excuse for doing whatever I want to do.

Think about it: think back to high school and the queen blonde bee who had it made. If you can’t think of someone, or perhaps that was you in high school (in which case, go away… j/k), think Regina George.

Exhibit A: Queen Blonde Bee Regina George

This girl could do no wrong. She walked around with holes cut out around her boobs and made it a fashion statement. Regina George is no nerd.

But, if she started watching science videos and invited you over for a Star Wars movie marathon, what would you do? The world would be flipped turned upside down.

Can Regina George be captain of the Debate team? A member of the Chess club? LARP on the campus lawn? Be the seeker for the campus Quidditch team?

Or worse… date someone who is?

Exhibit A does not belong in the nerd world and would never fit in.

Regina George is restricted by her social status. You see, when you’re a nerd, there are no restrictions on life. That’s probably why the “popular kids” make fun of the nerds; they’re just jealous they could never walk around in a Superman cape or with their Elder Wand.

Exhibit B: Nerd Avi

Exhibit B: Nerd Avi

I, on the other hand, could have a Star Trek movie marathon (not that I would. Star Wars is much better) AND walk around with holes cut out around my boobs and it would still be ok. I might get made fun of but let’s be honest, I’m going to be made fun of regardless. I stopped caring about that a long time ago.

Which is really what it boils down to, isn’t it? Being able to do what you want when you feel like it without having to worry about what someone is saying about you. In all honesty, being “popular” or whatever you want to call it is way too much pressure. I would much rather walk around pretending to put spells on people with my Elder Wand than worry about which days I am and am not allowed to wear pink so I don’t have to eat lunch by myself. As long as you think you’re cool enough at the end of the day, that’s all that matters. Then, hey, if you have to eat lunch alone, at least you’re hanging out with someone you think is pretty cool! Seriously, I could amuse myself for hours.

But you know what’s even better? Having family and friends who love you for who you are. Because who’s Superman without Lois Lane? Chewbacca without Han Solo? R2D2 without C3PO? I am so thankful for my incredible family and friends who love my nerdiness and actually religiously read my blog because they want to, ask me math problems because they need help and/or because they know I love doing math, and watch Star Wars/Superman/Batman movie marathons with me because they love them to.

Being a nerd is awesome and I wouldn’t want to be anything else. Life is too short to care what other people think about you.

Live long and prosper.

May the force be with you.

Carpe NerDiem!

4 Comments

  1. Pingback: Branded | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  2. Pingback: Fool Me Once: The Prompt | The Daily Prompt Alternative

Leave a Reply

