5 Ways to Smile on a Rainy Day

When I was little, every time it rained, my big sister would take me to get ice cream. We would dig through our purses, find all the pennies, nickles, and dimes we could, go to Maggie Moos, and share ice cream in a waffle cone. Even though I was around the age of 4, I’ll never forget those moments. Sticking my nose against the magical glass that seperated me from 13 tubs of sweet, creamy goodness and watching the man on the other side mix our favorite toppings in cotton candy ice cream and handing it to my sister. Outside the weather was wet and gloomy, but in my little heart, I was shaking with happiness in my rain boots!

20 years later, I have still only associated rain with happiness. I have my sister to thank for that.

Today is another one of those days. And today is no different from every rainy day that came before it.

20140111-154733.jpg

I woke up and looked outside my window to a pouring, rain storm. Instead of going back to bed and letting the gloomy weather take over, I headed to my favorite cafe, found out that their Mocha is hot chocolate with a shot of espresso (*mind blown*), got my favorite BLT with a warm soup, and sat reading my favorite book for two hours in front of the fireplace. I took the long way home and enjoyed the wet view of my gorgeous suburbia. This has to have been one of my favorite rainy days so far.

Admittedly when I have told people how I treat rainy days, I’ve been met with some skepticism. Most people like to bury themselves under their covers and sleep all day until the rain goes away. Well, this is me saying jump out of your bed and enjoy the rainy day!

Here are some of my favorite ways:

1. Douse yourself in sugar!
When you think of happiness, what images come to mind? Cotton candy, snickers bars, snow cones, ice cream, anything that gives you a sugar rush. Dig through your house for some of that sugary, tasty goodness and you’ll fall under the spell of a sugar rush in no time! If all else fails, make hot chocolate! Here’s my sister’s secret recipe:

Step 1: Find Hershey’s bars.

Step 2: Melt on the stove.

Step 3: Mix into milk.

Step 4: Give to your baby sister and watch her spill it all over herself. Enjoy!

2. Curl up with your favorite book!
You can do no wrong when there’s a book in your hands! For rainy days, I like to save my dirties/funniest/most romantic novels or dig up old ones. There’s no pressure to finish the whole thing, maybe just skip to the middle where you know the juicy scenes are! You know which books I’m talking about. Fifity Shades, anyone? Nora Roberts, Sophie Kinsella, Nicholas Sparks? They write the best rainy day reads.

The book on my current rainy day list is A Total Waste of Makeup by Kim Gruenenfelder. It’s been a long time since I’ve found a book I can’t book down! I love this one!

3. Open up all the windows! Invite the rain inside!

(Just don’t light some candles; then things can get a little depressing… unless they smell good! Then there’s nothing depressing about that, right?)

There’s a reason why some people can’t fall asleep unless they listen to the sound of rain. There is something so peaceful about the sound of the pitter-patter of rain drops on the ground. We live in a world where the majority of the noises we hear are car horns blasting, iPhones ringing, and people typing away on their keyboard. When was the last time you opened the window and just listened? What a better day to start than on a glorious rainy day.

Perhaps the only noise prettier is the noise that comes after the rain, when the birds come out chirping and the wind blows through the rain left on the ground. Quiet and cool.

4. Check the temperature!

It has been in the single digits in Virginia lately, and just when us Virginians thought it couldn’t get any colder, it began to rain today. But as I was driving home, I looked at the temperature gauge in my car and realized it was 60 degrees! Unbelievable! We associate rain with the cold but in actuality, the rain only comes when it’s nice outside, otherwise it wouldn’t be rain, but sleet or snow. And who doesn’t get excited by 60 degree, gorgeous weather!

5. Cuddle!

Get your bestie or boyfriend and cuddle up on the couch under a blanket and watch your favorite movie (with the windows open, of course!). There’s nothing like the warmth of another body while watching your favorite flick. Not only will the raindrops be spilling into your home, but the endorphins will flow! In the words of Elle Woods,

There you have it! Some of my favorite ways to get an instant boost of happiness on rainy, dreary days!

And if all else fails, take a nap and dream of great weather!

xoxo,
Avi

Leave a Reply

