“Wedding Night,” Sisterly Love, and Purple Sneakers

 

Daily Prompt: Tell us about the last book you read (Why did you choose it? Would you recommend it?). To go further, write a post based on its subject matter.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/06/16/daily-prompt-words

 

The last book I read was “Wedding Night” by Sophie Kinsella. Lottie thought her boyfriend of many years was about to propose and when she was hopelessly wrong (she even bought him a ring!), they break up and she reconnects with an old teenage fling, Ben. They spontaneously decide to get married which makes Fliss, Lottie’s older sister who is very familiar with Lottie’s behavior after a bad break up, very concerned. Lottie and Ben go back to where their fling first started, the magical island of Ikonos, for their honeymoon. Meanwhile, big sister Fliss’s mission is to stop them from consummating their marriage so they can get an annulment. But along the way, Fliss unexpectedly meets Ben’s best man, Lorcan, and perhaps finds a love of her own.

Sophie Kinsella is as hilarious as ever as she tells the story from both Fliss’ and Lottie’s perspectives. She’s my favorite author and this book took me about one night to read. I would definitely recommend it to anyone!

This book made me think a lot about sibling relationships, especially between sisters. My older sister (who ironically turned me on to Sophie Kinsella many years ago) reminds me of Fliss so much: independent, loving, caring, and always looking out for her spontaneous baby sister who is prone to making some stupid decisions. My sister is 10 years older than me and practically raised me. She is the one person throughout my whole life I could turn to for anything and I could count on her support. Often times, she knew me better than I knew myself, so naturally she was also there to stop me from doing stupid things too.

I’m not saying she would go as far as stopping me from consummating my marriage (hopefully!), but she was the first person to tell me when I should stop dating someone or that I’ve made a good decision in a guy.

I remember I was seeing one guy for about a year and we went on a double date with my sister for Valentines day. Afterwards, my sister didn’t hesitate to let me know the guy was a total dud and I should stop seeing him. Even though I had been seeing him for a year and was “in love” with the guy, I could always count on my sister to tell me how it is. In hindsight I wish I had listened to her. (The purple and yellow sneakers should have been enough to have me running the other way.)

Needless to say, I now take her opinion on the men I see very seriously and probably wouldn’t be with my current boyfriend of 4 1/2 years had it not been for her immediate approval.

This book also show forgiveness between two sisters. Naturally, Lottie finds out what her big sister had been up to and still manages to forgive her. At the end of the day, no matter how much you mess up, you are sisters and you are blood. No argument is worth the sacrifice of that bond. My sister and I have gotten into arguments big and small, but we always get through it. I’ve seen sisters break their relationship over petty arguments and silly fights. I couldn’t imagine that happening to me and my sister; I don’t know what I would do if I ever lost her in my life.

What I love most about this book is how much of an extent Fliss will go for Lottie. Even though what she is doing is absolutely ridiculous, she doesn’t see it that way until the very end when Lorcan realizes what she’s up to. The love you have for your sister is almost blinding to all reason. You do what you need to do for your sister. Fliss was willing to sacrifice her relationship with her sister, something she treasured, to give her sister a better life.

I completely understand that. I would do absolutely anything for my sister.

But that’s the bond of sisters: you’re there for each other through thick and thin, ridiculous and absurd…

For better and for worse.

I love you sis!

20130616-105341.jpg

5 Comments

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Hello Book It Has Been A While | My Daily Prompt Blog

  2. Pingback: The Penn Is Mightier Than The Sword | Edward Hotspur

  3. Pingback: “North by Northwestern;” Reality Without The Drama | The Jittery Goat

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Bookworm-Words | WoollyMuses

  5. Pingback: THIS MIRROR, MY IMAGE, THEIR GATE | hastywords

Leave a Reply

